The National Institutes of Health’s Clinical Center, the clinical research hospital at NIH, has the distinction of being the first federal medical facility to receive a Stage 7 Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model (EMRAM) Award from HIMSS Analytics.

EMRAM is a methodology for evaluating the progress and impact of electronic medical record systems for hospitals, which includes eight stages (0-7) that measure a hospital’s implementation and utilization of IT applications. The NIH Clinical Center joins an elite group of 2,200 hospitals out of 32,000 in the HIMSS Analytics database that have reached Stage 7 certification for inpatient care—the highest attainable level, which measures the extent to which an organization has adopted the use of EMRs to care for patients and improve their health outcomes.

Also See: HIMSS Analytics Changes Stage 7 Status Rule

HIMSS Analytics evaluated the NIH center’s Clinical Research Information System (CRIS), the primary computer information system used to support patient care, research and administrative activities in the research hospital. The center relies on CRIS to manage patient protocol information, write medical orders, retrieve laboratory results, document progress notes and other aspects of medical care.

The Stage 7 award is in recognition of the center’s achievement in creating an advanced patient record environment by: removing the use of paper charts in delivering and managing inpatient care; using an electronic system for reporting scientific findings and analyzing patterns of clinical data to improve quality of inpatient care, patient safety and care delivery efficiency; and sharing clinical information, including document and medical images, via standardized electronic transactions with entities that are authorized to treat patients.

"The NIH Clinical Center is a remarkable place doing remarkable things with its EHR for the patients they serve. From automatically capturing discrete data on anomalies found in digital imaging to providing pharmacogenomics clinical decision support to physicians, they are clearly a Stage 7 organization," said John H. Daniels, global vice president of the healthcare advisory services group at HIMSS Analytics.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access