The quality measures workgroup of the HIT Policy Committee is seeking public input through Dec. 23 as it develops recommendations for clinical quality measures in Stages 2 and 3 of the electronic health records meaningful use criteria.

In a new entry on the Federal Advisory Committee Blog site, the workgroup requests general comments and specific examples of measures for each measure concept that fit the following criteria:

* HIT-sensitive--Capable of being built into electronic health record (EHR) systems with implementation of relevant health IT functions (e.g., clinical decision support) that result in improved outcomes and/or clinical performance.

* Parsimonious--Applies across multiple types of providers, care settings and conditions.

* Demonstrates preventable burden--Supports potential improvements in population health and reduces burden of illness.

* Assesses health risk status and outcomes--Supports assessment of patient health risks that can be used for risk adjusting other measures, and assessing changes in outcomes, including general cross-cutting measures of risk status and functional status and condition-specific measures.

* Longitudinal--Enables assessment of longitudinal, condition-specific, patient-focused episodes of care.

"Your comments will inform the work of the HIT Policy Committee in supporting the development of HIT-sensitive clinical quality measures; these comments are important to shaping public policy on the future of e-measure development," writes workgroup chair David Lansky. Click here for more information.

--Joseph Goedert


Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access