Three new members have joined the Health Information Technology Policy Committee, an influential body of industry stakeholders that serves as advisors to the Department of Health and Human Services.

The members, nominated by the Government Accountability Office are:

* James (Jamie) Ferguson, a fellow at the Institute for Health Policy and vice president of HIT strategy and policy at Kaiser Permanente, representing health insurance companies;

* Carolyn Petersen, a senior editor for at the Mayo Clinic and a 30-year pediatric cancer survivor, representing patients and consumers; and

* Karen van Caulil, President and CEO at the Florida Healthcare Coalition, which represents a range of business, and she will represent employers.

Also See: Leadership chairs changing at HIT Policy Committee

HIT Policy Committee members, 21 in all, are selected by the Department of Health and Human Services (3), Acting Comptroller General of the United States (13), the majority and majority leaders of the U.S. House and Senate along with the House Speaker (4), additional members appointed by the President (4), and the GAO (3).
! �� r͸W��

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access