Health and Human Services Secretary Sylvia Burwell has named Anjum Khurshid to the HIT Policy Committee that advises federal officials on health information technology issues, and has reappointed three members of the complementary HIT Standards Committee.

Khurshid, who previously served on the committee’s governance subgroup, is senior advisor in the health systems division of the Louisiana Public Health Institute and will serve as a public health representative on HITPC. He succeeds Josh Sharfstein, M.D., Maryland Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene.

In New Orleans, Khurshid is a principal investigator and project director of the HITECH Act-funded Crescent City Beacon Community Program to develop clinical quality improvement programs that support health management and innovative care delivery models, and also works on comparative effectiveness initiatives, according to his LinkedIn profile. He also is a clinical assistant professor of medicine at Tulane University.

Members of the HIT Standards Committee that have been reappointed are Floyd Eisenberg, M.D., a consultant at iParsimony and serving as a quality measurement representative; Leslie Kelly Hall, senior vice president of policy at Healthwise and serving as a consumer/patient representative; and Arien Malec, vice president of data platform and acquisition tools at RelayHealth and serving as an electronic exchange representative.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access