The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has selected 500 primary care practices in seven regions to participate in the new Comprehensive Primary Care Initiative, a multi-payer and provider accountable care organization program with a heavy reliance on health information technology.

CMS first announced the initiative in late 2011, and in April 2012 selected markets and began soliciting physician and payer participants. Now, the program is rolling out in Arkansas, Colorado, New Jersey, Oregon, New York’s Capital District-Hudson Valley region, Ohio and Kentucky’s Cincinnati-Dayton region, and the greater Tulsa region in Oklahoma, with Medicaid and private health plan participation.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access