Standards development organization Health Level Seven International on July 13 will host a free Web seminar on the Clinical Documentation Architect Release 2.0 (CDA) and the Continuity of Care Document (CCD).

Both standards are proposed for use in Stage 2 of the electronic health records meaningful use program. CDA is HL7’s standard for exchanging clinical documents, such as discharge summaries, imaging reports, admission and physical forms, and pathology reports, among others.

It also permits re-use of the data in multiple applications. “The CCD is an implementation of the CDA--basically it constrains the CDA down to a specific use--which is for the sharing of patient clinical summary data using the CDA,” according to an HL7 explanation. “So, the CDA is the overarching standard and the CCD is one way of implementing it specifically.”

For your consideration: HL7 offers some standards building blocks for free

The Web seminar will explain the benefits of both standards and the business needs they meet, and a newly published CDA implementation guide. Calvin Beebe, technical specialist at Mayo Clinic and co-chair of the HL7 Structured Documents Workgroup that developed the standards, will present during the one-hour seminar, which starts at noon EST. Registration is available here.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access