Five pillars of electronic health record implementation--adoption, standards, privacy/security, incentives, and governance--are required to ensure interoperability, according to Doug Fridsma, M.D., ONC's chief science officer and director of the Office of Science and Technology. Fridsma, a keynote speaker at a Feb. 23 HIMSS14 pre-conference symposia, argued that meaningful use Stages 1 and 2 have helped to promote medical data interoperability but much work remains to be done.      

"Meaningful Use is about interoperability. It's about adopting technology and then demonstrating interoperability through exchange and use of the information," said Fridsma, who believes that "appropriate" EHR standards are critical, as well as ensuring that these standards are being used effectively. Privacy and security are also essential components of interoperability "because people aren't going to exchange data that they don't trust."

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access