Since the first hospital in early 2009 reached Stage 7, the highest level on the HIMSS Analytics scale of electronic health records capabilities, all hospitals with that distinction have retained their status as top EHR leaders. Now, they’ll have to periodically re-earn the designation.

HIMSS Analytics has announced that the Stage 7 designation will be valid for three years, meaning the 219 hospitals at that stage must revalidate every three years. The process starts with hospitals that reached Stage 7 between 2009 and 2013, as these organizations will receive instructions for revalidation by the end of the year.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access