The Department of Health and Human Services has announced the initial core set of 35 health care quality measures for Medicaid-eligible adults, which states can voluntarily use to facilitate quality improvements.

The core set, authorized under the Affordable Care Act, “is an important first step in an overall strategy to encourage and enhance quality improvement,” according to an HHS notice being published Jan. 4 in the Federal Register. “States that chose to collect the initial core set will be better positioned to measure their performance and develop action plans to achieve the three- part aims of better care, healthier people and affordable care as identified in HHS’ National Strategy for Quality Improvement in Health Care.”

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access