As of Jan. 1, 2012, radiology technicians and vendors furnishing the technical components of advanced diagnostic imaging modalities--PET, MRI and CT systems--must be accredited by a Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services-deemed accreditation body.

Mandated under the Medicare Improvement for Patients and Providers Act of 2008, this accreditation is a new requirement, says Barbara Rubel, senior vice president of marketing and client services at MSN LLC, a Columbus, Ga.-based radiology billing company. Accreditation must be complete before a radiology firm can be paid for exams using the modalities.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access