The federal government will not finalize a rule that would adopt criteria for an optional 2015 Edition of electronic health records meaningful use certification. Rather, a new final rule adopts a smaller subset of criteria from the original proposal, now called 2014 Edition Release 2.

The Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT issued the 2014 Edition Release 2 final rule today.  The rule will be published Sept. 11 in the Federal Register. The Department of Health and Human Services and ONC use these optional editions of meaningful use to inform further decision making for the program.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access