The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has issued a 752-page final rule covering three components of the electronic health records meaningful use program. The rule finalizes modifications to Stages 1 and 2; the 2015 edition of electronic health records certification criteria; and Stage 3 of meaningful use.

Since publication of proposed rules last spring, the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization was enacted, which will create a new Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS). Consequently, this final rule includes a 60-day comment period for certain provisions of the payment system that could affect meaningful use. For instance, the existing Medicare payment adjustment for eligible professionals will end in calendar year 2018 and be incorporated under MIPS starting in calendar year 2019, according to the rule.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access