ICSA Labs, one of five firms federally selected to certify electronic health records under the Stage 2 electronic health records meaningful use certification program, is seeking vendors to pilot test certification criteria, known as the 2014 Edition.

The pilots will evaluate testing times, logistics and appropriate test methodologies for each criterion, and participants will provide feedback to ICSA and the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology. Pilot test applications are due by Nov. 19, and letters of interest can be sent to michelle.knighton@icsalabs.com.

Certifying entities for the 2014 Edition are the Certification Commission for Health Information Technology, Drummond Group, ICSA Labs, InfoGard Laboratories and Orion Register. All but Orion Register currently participate in the Stage 1 meaningful use program under a temporary certification program.

Under a convoluted program set up for the permanent certification program that starts with the 2014 Edition, ONC in 2011 named the American National Standards Institute as the ONC-Approved Accreditor for the permanent certification program. The ONC-Approved Accreditor, or ONC-AA, is the entity that accredits organizations wishing to be a certification body under the permanent certification program. The five firms that ANSI initially accredited were the first five ONC in August picked as certifiers.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access