Hoping to stem fraud and abuse in troublesome regions of the nation, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services is imposing a temporary moratorium on enrollment for certain services covered by Medicare, Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Plan in three major metropolitan regions.

The moratorium applies to newly-enrolling home health agencies in the greater Chicago and Miami regions, and newly-enrolling ambulance services in the Houston metropolitan region. The moratoriums, authorized under the Affordable Care Act, cover Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties in Florida, Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry and Will Counties in Illinois, and Brazoria, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery and Waller Counties in Texas.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access