Physicians who assign their reimbursement and billing to a critical access hospital, known as CAH II or Method II physicians, now are eligible to participate in the electronic health records meaningful use program, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has announced.

The physicians can start with Stage 1 in calendar year 2014 but cannot attest for the first time until January 2014. That’s because CMS must update information systems to capture the physicians’ national provider identifier and line-of-service payment information so that their claims are tied to specific rendered services.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access