Six states will split $250 million in funding from the Department of Health and Human Services to test multi-payer accountable care organizations and other new payment and service delivery models.

The states--Arkansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Oregon and Vermont--are the furthest along in participating in the reform law-authorized State Innovation Model awards program. Another 19 states will receive smaller awards totaling about $50 million to complete development of health care transformation programs.

Three of the 19 states received pre-testing funds to continue work on a State Health Care Innovation Plan, and 16 got funding to create model designs that produce an innovation plan within six months. When ready, states can apply for model testing funds.

More information is available here, and a new HHS report on Medicaid and CHIP reform efforts is here.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access