A final rule from the Department of Health and Human Services sets specific standards for individual and small-group coverage of health plans offered through health insurance exchanges, also called marketplaces.

The rule requires non-grandfathered health plans in the individual and small-group markets to cover “essential health benefits” in 10 categories, such as hospitalization, prescription drugs, and maternity/newborn care. Each state can select a benchmark plan--from a federal list--to serve as the standard for plans required to offer essential health benefits.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access