The Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology has authorized four organizations to certify electronic health records under the Stage 2 meaningful use program, known as the 2014 Edition of certification.

ONC in August 2012 “named” five organizations for what amounted to provisional Stage 2 certifiers after the firms had been vetted by and received accreditation from the American National Standards Institute as appropriate candidates. Next, the organizations had to have their testing programs accredited under criteria created by the National Institutes of Standards and Technology.

Four of the organizations--all of whom are certifying veterans in Stage 1--have received testing accreditation and are the first certifying entities ONC now has authorized for Stage 2. They are the Certification Commission for Health Information Technology, Drummond Group, ICSA Labs and InfoGard Laboratories.

Orion Register, a newcomer that ONC also named as a certification entity in August pending NIST testing, has dropped out.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access