A new mark, or logo, will appear on electronic health records products certified under the government’s 2014 Edition of the Stage 1 and Stage 2 electronic health records meaningful use programs.

Four organizations certify EHR products for meeting parts or all of meaningful use criteria. Complete EHR certification means a core application meets all technical requirements. EHR Module certification means an ancillary product meets certain meaningful use criteria, such as creating a summary of care record, or transmitting the record using specific Direct Project secure messaging protocols.

“The mark is a visual cue that the product--whether a complete EHR, an EHR module or another type of health I.T. product--meets ONC’s applicable certification criteria and can achieve interoperability, functionality and security,” according to an announcement from the HHS Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology.

More information on the mark and other certification requirements are available here.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access