To date, just over 4,900 group practices--encompassing 23,000 physicians, physician assistants and advanced nurse practitioners--have attained NCQA recognition as a medical home (the group also recognizes excellence of care in specific disease states). The recognition is a critical first step in participating in payer incentive programs targeting primary care practices.  It’s an I.T.-intensive care delivery model with the potential to reduce cost and better coordinate care by having primary care physicians be the quarterback of a patient’s treatment.

Attaining NCQA medical home status--a prerequisite for some payer incentive programs--is a time-consuming experience just to apply, let alone changing the underlying operation. Family Medical Associates of Raleigh (N.C.) found that out when it received NCQA Level III recognition in 2010. “We had already attained NCQA recognition for our diabetic and hypertension care, and we wanted to add to it,” says Janet Spangler, practice administrator at the 9-provider group (which has already attested for Stage 1 meaningful use). “In North Carolina, Blue Cross Blue Shield has tied medical home status to a new quality program, so it was also another opportunity for increased reimbursement,” she says. “You have to maintain NCQA recognition, maintain certain e-prescribing percentages, and do follow-up with patients. You must precept medical students and maintain various quality metrics. It builds on the NCQA requirements.”

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access