A proposed rule from the Department of Health and Human Services would establish data collection standards for insurers to demonstrate that they are offering certain health plans with “essential health benefits coverage” as defined under the Affordable Care Act. The rule also would begin a two-phase process for certifying such plans.

The health reform law requires non-grandfathered plans in 2014 to offer essential health benefits covering at least 10 categories of items and services. These include ambulatory, emergency, hospitalization, maternity/newborn, mental health/substance abuse, prescription drug, laboratory, preventive/wellness, chronic disease management, and pediatric services that include oral and vision care.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access