The Department of Health and Human Services on Thursday announced $87 million in awards for 1,310 health centers in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

According to HHS, health IT is part of the Obama administration’s efforts to build a healthcare system that delivers better care, smarter spending and healthier people. The agency added that this is the first significant investment since 2009 directly awarded to health centers to support the purchase of health IT. HHS emphasized that all purchases or upgrades of electronic health record systems made with the funding must use technology certified by the Office of the National Coordinator for HIT.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access