The federal government at the start of the Labor Day weekend finalized a rule to add flexibility to attesting for Medicare and Medicaid Stages 1 and 2 of meaningful use during 2014. But for many providers, the relief is too little too late.

The final rule, from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and Office of the National Coordinator for HIT and available here, extends Stage 2 through 2016 and starts Stage 3 in 2017 for providers who first attested to Stage 1 in 2011 or 2012.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access