The Electronic Healthcare Network Accreditation Commission, which certifies entities that process transactions or exchange health information for meeting best practices, has released for comment updated versions of criteria for 12 existing programs and three new programs covering use of the Direct Project secure messaging protocols.

Existing accreditation programs cover health information exchanges, electronic prescribing, e-prescribing of controlled substances, financial services, claims clearinghouses, value added networks, medical billers, payer-owned electronic health networks, third-party administrators, management service organizations, and outsourced services such as call centers and remote hosting.

New and revised criteria within the programs address provisions under the final omnibus HIPAA Rule published earlier this year, and cloud computing specifications. Comments are due by July 29 with the criteria and more information is available here.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access