The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services on Feb. 17 will publish a proposed rule to prohibit Medicaid agencies from using federal funds to pay for medical care resulting from healthcare-acquired conditions.

The rule also proposes to authorize states to identify other "provider-preventable conditions," which is a new category CMS intends to create, for which Medicaid payment would be prohibited.

Medicare presently lists 27 healthcare-acquired conditions for which it will not reimburse providers. The conditions fall into 10 categories: foreign object retained after surgery, air embolism, blood incompatibility, Stage III and IV pressure ulcers, falls and trauma, manifestations of poor glycemic control, catheter-associated urinary tract infection, vascular catheter-associated infection, surgical site infection, and deep vein thrombosis/pulmonary embolism.

The proposed rule will be available here.

--Joseph Goedert


Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access