The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has published a 158-page interactive document that is a comprehensive toolkit for helping providers prepare for Stage 2 of the electronic health records meaningful use program.

Stage 2 begins on Oct. 1, 2013, for hospitals that have completed Stage 1, and on Jan. 1, 2014, for eligible professionals. Providers have a 90-day reporting period during their first year of Stage 2, and a year-long reporting period in the second year.

The toolkit contains an overview of major provisions in Stage 2 and a handful of changes made to remaining periods of Stage 1, frequently asked questions, lists of core and menu measures with a link to each measure’s specification sheet, comparisons of core and menu measures for Stages 1 and 2, a tip sheet on getting a payment adjustment or hardship exemption, and tips on how to report clinical quality measures along with resource links for each measure.

CQM resources in the document include description and definition statements for all CQMs for eligible professionals and hospitals, technical release notes for electronically reported CQMs, and a list of recommended pediatric and adult measures for CQMs for eligible professionals.

The toolkit is available here.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access