The Department of Health and Human Services has named Cincinnati and Detroit as the final Beacon Communities to serve as pilot sites for comprehensive use of health information technology.

The department in May awarded a total of $220 million in economic stimulus funds to establish 15 Beacon Communities to tackle specific projects to improve health care and population health status. The goal is to accelerate and demonstrate the benefits of health I.T. while laying the groundwork for establishment of thousands of health I.T. jobs.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access