The Chicago-based Certification Commission for Health Information Technology has appointed three new members to its board and named five new commissioners.

The new board members are: Lori Evans, CEO, ActiveHealth Provider; William Jessee, M.D., president and CEO, Medical Group Management Association; and Stephen Klasko, M.D., CEO, University of South Florida Health and dean of the College of Medicine.

Commissioners guide and approve the work of voluntary work groups as they develop electronic records certification criteria, inspection processes and policy. The new commissioners are: Patricia Becker, vice president and CIO, University HealthSystem Consortium; Barbara Byrne, M.D., vice president, information systems, Edward Hospital; Timothy Elwell, vice president, Misys Open Source Solutions; Jay Srini, chief innovation officer, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center; and Grace Terrell, M.D., president and CEO, Cornerstone Health Care.

In addition, Linda Hogan, director of the medical informatics department at The Commonwealth Medical College; Rick Ratliff, president of the Virginia division at SureScripts; and David Ross, executive director of the Public Health Informatics Institute, were re-appointed to another two-year term as commissioner.

Meanwhile CCHIT has initiated a national search for a successor to Mark Leavitt, M.D., who is stepping down as chairman. More information is available at

--Howard Anderson

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Health Data Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access